Was I a fool to let you break down my walls

Of cigarettes, weed, girls, alcohol, and emotions.

These heavy topics are something that I never thought could all be part of my life. Not that I’m using weed or smoking cigarettes – I just feel that they’ve been really secluded topics that nobody bothers to confront, because it’s almost impossible to.
But I’m thankful that when it comes to these topics, my friends are honest with me about it. They do not bother hiding it when they know that they’re circling around the topics, as somehow I would find out eventually. It’s not glorious to have something like that on your resume as you introduce yourself to the world, but at least to me, it is also not something to hide. Friends like these may choose to seek advice from other people and make sure that they don’t sink in deeper, and that means that their situation is still salvageable, that they’re still with us. But for those who can’t see that they’re in the wrong, and refuse to listen, I think these are the people who are lost. You’d expect me to say that they’re not people who can be saved, but I beg to differ. They’re the people who genuinely need help. If you’re a friend and you turn your head away just so that you won’t see your friends “suffer”, you’re the wrong kind of friend. 
I do not try to behave like a saint, and neither am I one. When it comes to situations like these I really do not know the protocol & procedure. But I am trying, at least I am learning how to be a better fit for these friends. A better friend and a better confidante. I will keep striving to be the better version of myself every single day, and if that’s not enough, I’ll try even harder. Because that’s all I can do for them, and for myself.
Leave a Reply

