There are many instances when I would go “aww…” when I see a touching video on Twitter or Facebook of someone helping another out in this world we know that is filled with cruelty and not so much kindness. Whether it is a small act of kindness, a huge one that gains so much publicity it calls for a controversy, or even an anonymous act of goodwill, they all bring me to the verge of tears. Yes, I’m a total sucker for touching little things.

Today at the Batu Caves in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, I had a real life encounter of a kind act. Albeit small, it was something that warmed my heart instantly.

It started drizzling when we were descending the stairs and by the time we reached the bottom, it was already kinda pouring. So we had to seek shelter in the small little space they had in front of the 272-steps staircase.

The woman in beige white, rushed up the stairs with an umbrella on the last flight despite not having the best mobility, and helped the Indian lady down the last two flights of stairs. It may not seem like much because there were so many flights of stairs above where she did not offer her help, but the rain only got really heavy during the last 3 flights, which slowed down the lady’s speed in descending the stairs and explains the kind act.

It was so rewarding to see such an act of kindness because we were all stuck in the shelter under the heavy and unforgiving rain. Under those circumstances, anyone with an umbrella would have offered to help, including myself, but it was a coincidence that we were all just stuck in the rain with no umbrella or whatsoever equipment that we could use to shelter the lady from the rain.

Not to toot my own horn, but my father helped a Caucasian lady with her child down the stairs as well as the rain began to get heavier. The lady was thankful along with the small boy, and it really made my day a whole lot better. I wanted to much to help because I saw them first, but the boy is about 3-4 years old and I wasn’t sure if I could shoulder his weight AND descend the rather steep steps on the staircase.

This marks the end of this wonderful story that heightened my faith in humanity. It was beautiful and I wanted to document it so I would never forget to be kind ✨

Leave a Reply

